Formation of International Ad Hoc Committee (IAHC) Thumbnail
‹ Back

Formation of International Ad Hoc Committee (IAHC)

11 November 1996

The IAHC is formed amid concern about the future of the Domain Name System (DNS) and in response to a proposal by Board Member and International Assigned Numbers Authority (IANA) administrator Jon Postel to create a host of new top-level domains (TLDs) and registries. Chaired by Internet Society President Don Heath, it includes representatives from the Internet Society, the IAB, and IANA, as well as the National Science Foundation (NSF)and several international organizations such as the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) and the International Telecommunications Union (ITU).

The International Ad Hoc Committee dissolves on May 1, 1997, producing a gTLD MoU (generic Top Level Domain Memorandum of Understanding) as its final report, to which 226 entities—including the Internet Society —are signatories. The IAHC contributes to a broad-based, international discussion of Internet governance and related issues (particularly with respect to the DNS) during a transitional era in the Internet’s history.

‹ Back