‹ Back
Pre-2016 Press Releases 8 September 2011

ISOC Board Election results announced

2009 Board Election

Election Results

Letter from the ISOC Elections Committee

On behalf of the Elections Committee, we extend our appreciation and thanks to all of the candidates who stood for election for the Board of Trustees. ISOC is honoured to have such well-qualified candidates.

In the Chapter election, we had three candidates:

Franck Martin
Khaled Koubaa
Narelle Clark
63 out of the 82 chapters voted, which is 77%.

Khaled Koubaa, who received the highest number of the votes, has been elected for a three year term.

In the Organizational Member election, we initially had five candidates:

David Appasamy
Allen Miller
Philip Smith
Jonathan Zittrain
Guanghao Li
Allen Miller withdrew during the election. Thus, the votes in favour of Allen Miller were not counted. 54 of the 92 Organizational Members, or 59%, voted. The ballot cast was weighted by the class of membership.

Philip Smith and Jonathan Zittrain, receiving the largest weighted ballot counts, have been elected for three year terms.

Using the process documented in RFC 3677, the IAB has selected Eric Burger as the IETF appointee to the ISOC board.

As defined in the timetable there is a challenge period in which issues may be raised concerning the election. This closes 25 May at midnight UTC, and the resulting board is seated in the ISOC Board Meeting in Stockholm on 24 July.

The turnout in this case has been higher in the chapter election than in recent years, and stable for the organizational membership. The election itself conducted with the highest of standards and the elections committee is satisified with the electronic voting system that was used this year.

Respectfully submitted,

Patrick Vande Walle, chair
Latif Ladid
Glenn Ricart

‹ Back

Related resources

Development 25 September 2015

Internet Society Statement on the 2015 UN Sustainable Development Summit

This week, the United Nations is hosting the Sustainable Development Summit (SDS) where the international community will embrace a...

Domain Name System (DNS) 3 September 2015

Internet Society Comments on the IANA Stewardship Transition Proposal

The Internet Society believes the proposal of the IANA Coordination Group (ICG) meets the principles set forth by NTIA...

Domain Name System (DNS) 6 August 2015

Internet Users in Asia-Pacific Want More Opportunities to Participate in Internet Policymaking, According to Latest Internet Society Survey

A newly published Internet Society survey on Internet policy trends in Asia-Pacific found that the majority of respondents would...

Join the conversation with Internet Society members around the world